alatefeline: Painting of a cat asleep on a book. (Default)
[personal profile] alatefeline
I'm identifying and describing myself to make it easier for people to talk to me, for me to find community, to point out some common interests, to make it simpler for anyone who chooses to call me on blinkered or privileged thinking, and to avoid inadvertently misrepresenting myself. Because people do change over time, this post is also subject to change.

Names and Pronouns:
Please call me alatefeline on Dreamwidth. I prefer they/them pronouns.

Names and Pronouns Continued:
I will also answer to other common gender-neutral pronouns - ze, ey, per, and so on. With people I know face to face I may or may not answer, out of habit, to she/her pronouns. Nicknames are OK as a one-off, since I will certainly tell you if I don’t like them. If you know me by another name or handle elsewhere, I trust you to use it there, but I would prefer to keep it off of Dreamwidth except for contact-info-related private messages, because this is where I am honest about things that might get me damaged elsewhere.

Race / Ethnicity & Nationality:
White or European American. I live in the U.S.A. I have ancestors from Scotland, Ireland, Germany, Wales, and England. My grandfather immigrated from Scotland as a teenager. I identify with Celtic cultural heritage. I was born and grew up in the U.S.A. I am East Coast born, Midwest raised, West Coast dwelling. I have traveled to other countries and I lived in Barcelona, Spain for one semester as a student.

I speak English. I also speak Spanish well enough to communicate about most topics, albeit ungrammatically, but not at a native level of fluency.

Gender & Embodiment:
Genderqueer. I don’t usually like gendered expectations being applied to me and in a better universe I wouldn’t be physically embodied the way I am but in this one I don’t think I can improve the fit much. Physically, adult female with divergent brain wiring, kind of cis, sort of um. Neither particularly large nor particularly small. Cat person in human form. You may ask if you know me and you are curious, but please don’t be rude.

Queer and present. I have chosen to open up a bit more about that, but the related post is still a work in progress and not up yet.

I live with one primary partner. I have parents and a sister elsewhere. I have an extended family of both birth and choice. I do not have children or other dependents. I am a cat-sib and a dog-walker-out-law, but I have no companion animals in my dwelling at this time, alas.

I am a teacher by vocation, with various past jobs. My current position is as a classified staff member half doing that and half doing the teaching job I’m actually qualified for and half trying to cover for a paraprofessional job; yes, that’s three halves.

Neurodiversity and Hi/Lo Abilities:
I am an Aspie and on the autism spectrum. I sometimes experience anxiety, depression, sensory overload, social differences, and processing difficulties. I have a keen interest in the world and in people, a hopeful heart, a voracious scholarly mind, and a lovely library. I am not physically disabled. I am short and not very athletically gifted, but I walk a lot and can sit in odd corners comfortably.

I am somewhere in my mid to late twenties to thirties. I do not plan on updating my age information until I finally achieve a waist-length completely gray-white hippy braid, or go bald.

Particular Interests:
I am a cat person and a bookwyrm. I am a geek. I collect rocks. I garden and gather. I read and reread anything, but especially science nonfiction, science fiction, and fantasy. I am a gamer and LARPer currently on personal hiatus from most games, but active in playing Magic: the Gathering. I am a fan of many things, but literary conventions, Doctor Who, fanfic, nerdy music, drum circles, hula hoops, camping, hiking, intersectional feminism, politically informed everyday life, learning new skills, and cuddling with kitties are definitely included.

Regarding comments: Yes, please. Don't be nasty on purpose and please do tell me if I am being unpleasant because it is probably by accident. If I sound like I'm telling you to shut up via hint, no, I just failed my social skills check. If I want you to go away I will tell you that and then block stuff. If you want me to go away / not comment on a certain thing / in a certain way I WILL, IF I understand that that is what you are telling me. I am still figuring out how to do this online social life thing and I do screw up sometimes.

Regarding quoting/remixing something I made: Go ahead. It would be nice if you included a credit/link back.

Regarding access and subscriptions: I subscribe to people's journals readily if I like reading stuff they post. Feel free to subscribe to mine or not as you like. Basically nothing on my journal is access locked, so please don't feel like it means much if I don't grant you access / accidentally hit the grant access button. I will update if and when this needs to change.

Date: 26 May 2016 12:49 (UTC)
mdlbear: Welcome to Rainbow's End (sign) (rainbows-end)
From: [personal profile] mdlbear
If you find yourself in Seattle, you're always welcome at Rainbow's End.

Re: Thanks!!!

Date: 27 May 2016 04:43 (UTC)
mdlbear: the positively imaginary half of a cubic mandelbrot set (Default)
From: [personal profile] mdlbear
Hmm. I'm going to be in Portland for Westercon, July 4th weekend. Probably won't get out of the hotel, but you can usually find me at the filking.

Date: 26 May 2016 14:03 (UTC)
dragonyphoenix: (raven)
From: [personal profile] dragonyphoenix
I collect rocks. Have you ever seen Defying Gravity? One of the characters is a geologist. I don't recall the exact quote, but when friends are helping her move and commenting on how heavy the trunk is, she says that's the thing about geologists. They always have plenty of rocks. ;-)

Re: rock on

Date: 27 May 2016 02:21 (UTC)
dragonyphoenix: (blue flower)
From: [personal profile] dragonyphoenix
*grin* Well, practice does make perfect.

Date: 26 May 2016 19:18 (UTC)
lizcommotion: Lily and Chance squished in a cat pile-up on top of a cat tree (buff tabby, black cat with red collar) (Default)
From: [personal profile] lizcommotion



alatefeline: Painting of a cat asleep on a book. (Default)

October 2017

12 34567
89 10 1112 13 14
1516 1718192021

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 19 October 2017 21:48
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios